Previous years (2014-2015)

2014 ISL champion Atletico Kolkata

Atletico Kolkata winner ISL 2014 (Image: AFP)

ISL (Indian Super League) will start on 1st October in Guwahati. As many of the followers of this alternative indian soccer league know, from the first season the clubs have counted with spanish players and coaches in their squads. In fact, the winner of the first trophy of the ISL in 2014 was Atletico Kolkata, an Atletico Madrid franchise, that had a spanish head coach (Antonio Lopez Habas) who this year joined FC Pune City and spanish soccer players like: Borja Garcia, Josemi, Luis Garcia, Jofre, Agudo and Arnal Llibert. Other spanish players like Bruno Herrero, Ivan Bolado, Koke, Victor Herrero “Pulga” Capdevila or Cristian Hidalgo became part of ISL teams that first year.

Borja Fernandez celebration ISL 2015

Borja Fernandez celebrates a goal in match of the ISL 2015 (Image: ISL)

The second edition of ISL again counted with the presence of some spanish players, as the general performance of the spaniards the previous one was good. Bruno Herrero in Northeast United FC, the goalkeeper Toni Doblas for Delhi Dynamos; Marchena, Victor Herrero “Pulga” and Josu in Kerala Blasters; Valdo, Calatayud, Tiri, Gavilan, Borja Fernandez and Javi Lara for Atletico Kolkata; Cristian Bustos, Aitor and Juan Aguilera in Mumbai City FC and Jofre for FC Goa were the spanish football players that appeared in the ISL in 2015. Antonio Lopez Habas kept his position as Atletico Kolkata coach.

Spanish soccer players in ISL 2016

In 2016, as many supporters expected, several spanish players are going to be part of some of the eight team of the indian football league (ISL)

Tebar and Ronaldo Real Madrid

Marcos Tebar and Cristiano Ronaldo celebrate a goal for Real Madrid (Jed Jacobsohn/Getty Images)

Atletico Kolkata is this year again the team with more spanish components in his squad. The former international player for Spain national team and Atletico Madrid Jose Francisco Molina will be the coach. Dani Mallo will defend the goal, while Borja Fernandez, Pablo Gallardo, Tiri, Javi Lara and Juan Belencoso will be doing their best to bring the title back to Kolkata.

FC Pune City will count on Antonio Lopez Habas as a head coach and David Moliner Monedero as a technical director. The former ISL Champion in 2014 will try to put the Maharashtra team to his maximum level. Two spanish players will be part of the 2016 squad: Bruno Herrero Arias and Pitu.

Zambrotta´s team, Delhi Dynamos, will face the new season with two Real Madrid former players in their lines: Marcos Tebar and Ruben Gonzalez. Toni Doblas will be again the goalkeeper for the team.

Josu will be wearing Kerala Blasters tshirt at least one year more, this time under the direction of the british head coach Steve Coppell.

Finally we find Jofre, who will be playing again for FC Goa. The spanish midfielder looks like very happy in the goan region with the coach Zico leading the proyect the third consecutive year.

Only Northeast United, Mumbai City FC and Chennayin FC have not spanish soccer players in their squads.

Former La Liga players in ISL 2016

Romaric, Forlan and Gudjohnsen

La Liga soccer players Gudjohnsen, Forlan and Romaric

Also, we can find some former La Liga players (or former youth teams players) in the squads of the ISL teams this year:
Northeast United: Didier Zokora and Romaric
Mumbai City FC: Diego Forlan and Vadocz.
Chennayin: Hans Mulder.
FC Pune City: Andre Bikey, Anibal Zurdo and Eidur Gudjohnsen.
Atletico Kolkata: Helder Postiga.